REVIVAL!

revival 1

revival now

by Jack C. Corcoran

Back in the year of 1990, I was a student at the seminary in Fort Worth, Texas. On this one particular day, we were seated in the classroom for “History of Christianity”; there were about 30 of us – men and women.

Our study on this day was in the Book of Nehemiah. The professor was going on and on about the statistics, i.e. when it was written; who wrote it; that sort of stuff. He was boring me so I went ahead and started reading.

I was especially intrigued with chapters 8 and 9. As I read the words in these two chapters, the Spirit of God came over me and I began to weep and grow very warm. I was especially captured by certain verses; 8:5,6,15; and 9:2, 3.

You should find time to read them yourselves but in verse 8:5 it starts out with…

“Ezra opened the book…and as he opened it, the people all stood. In verse 8:15, they are told that “they should proclaim this word and spread it throughout their towns…”

And by the time we get to chapter 9:2 – 3, we see what is happening. “They stood in their places and confessed their sins….they stood where they were and read from the book of the Law of the Lord their God.”

And I’m squirming in my seat and thinking, this is revival! This is what a revival is!

I’m not sure how much time had passed; probably not more than a few minutes. But I was suddenly brought back to the present when I heard the professor shouting; “Mr. Corcoran, are you ok?”

As I began explaining what I was reading, I began to weep again and suddenly, some guy from behind stood up and began to confess sin. You could hear a pin drop and then sobbing, and then another stood up and confessed and then another. And then, suddenly, the dismissal bell sounded and the professor broke in and dismissed us. The spell, or whatever you wish to call it, had been broken and everyone quietly filed out and went on their way.

I believe to this day that if I had been more alert to the Spirit’s leading, we would have seen revival right there in the seminary. But like everyone else, I went casually on my way and it was soon forgotten. But not totally forgotten because I have been reminded of it several times since.

Last night for instance, as I was praying, I was reminded again. Twenty-six years have passed since that day in the classroom and I am being reminded again. I don’t think this is accidental or coincidental; I’m sure you all might agree that we are sorely in need of revival, not only in the USA but around the globe.

So, here is what the Lord laid on my heart last night as I was drifting off to sleep. I am urging each and every one who reads this to join me in prayer for revival. I don’t mean just one time; I mean it this way;

Each night before you crawl into bed, I would urge yo to do as I am doing (actually, I started last night). If you recall, God made a promise to His people in 2 Chronicles 7:14. He said:

“If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.”

Many people have been posting this quote from Scripture for several years but, it doesn’t end there. The promise is enforced in 12:7 when the word of the Lord comes to Shemaiah. The Lord says… “Since they have humbled themselves, I will not destroy them but will soon give them deliverance.”

We humble ourselves whenever we fall to our knees before the Lord. So, this must be the posture we take as we pray for deliverance and revival. And remember; “The Lord is slow to anger; abounding in love and forgiveness.” these very words are repeated over and over throughout Scripture. Read some of them as you find time.

revival 2

We can have revival, and we must or we will nor survive. The enemy is at the door and only God can stop him. You can see, if you’re nor blind, that our politicians aren’t doing their job. In fact, they are going against God. I’m a retired police officer and it sickens me to see what’s going on in our country with all these officers being murdered.

The only thing that can stop it is revival and the only way to bring revival is us.

The way to revival starts with ME! Say that to yourself each night as you fall to your knees; start tonight and every night from now on until the Lord answers. I do not believe that it would be improper to ask the Lord to keep His promise from 2 Chronicles. this is the way I intend to close out each and every day from now on until the Lord answers.

Will you please join me?

 

 

One thought on “REVIVAL!

Leave a comment