A Lesson in Tithing

hungry

by John C. Corcoran

 

“My God will meet all of your needs” Philippians 4:19

I live on Social Security; a certain amount each month; it’s what I have to live on.

I needed to move so I began searching for an apartment that I could afford. Each one I looked at was more than I could afford. The lowest was at least half of my monthly income. That didn’t leave much for utilities, computer (which I need because of my writing), phone, and TV. How was I going to manage this?

I called on God and he answered. But, it was not what I really wanted to hear. God said, “Bring the whole tithe and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that you will not have room enough for it.”

I immediately began to argue; “God, I don’t have enough now; take away 10% and how can I possibly make it?” And he answered. “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.” Proverb 3:5

“Well, Lord, I definitely don’t understand but I do trust you with all my heart.” So, I went on line and gave 10% of my income that month to Gleaners, which is an organization in Indianapolis that feeds the hungry. And God wants us to feed the hungry.

On October 27th, 2015, I went online again and gave another 10% to Gleaners. And on November 4th – just eight days later – I moved in to this cute little apartment from which I am writing this. All of my utilities were turned on (including a $100.00 deposit to the water Dept.) and my computer was on so I could work, and I have a phone; and I still have money left over. In fact, I have more than 10% of my check left. Yes, God has kept his word to provide my needs, plus some.

The only thing I don’t have is a TV but I am able to watch movies (dvd’s) on my computer, and I can go online to catch the news and weather. I would like to have a TV but I don’t really need a TV and the promise is; My God will meet all of my NEEDS.

However, God says, “I will pour out so much blessing that you will not have enough room for it.” So, I believe that if I continue to tithe, which is a blessing in itself, God will provide me with a vehicle and a TV.

Yes, it is a blessing to tithe – feeding hungry people makes me feel good and God says in Matthew 25:34-35; “Come, you who are blessed by the Father… for I was hungry and you gave me something to eat…”

Leave a Reply

