He Loves Me Just because

God so loved

by John C. Corcoran

 

My relationship with my earthly father was one that I would never wish on my worst enemy. I don’t know why, or what I ever did to my earthly father but I’ve always felt as though he hated me for some reason. I remember the many beatings I received from him; and I remember all the names he called me, i.e. “stupid”, “birdbrain”, and, excuse my language but, his favorite name for me was “shit for brains”. I cannot remember, one single time, ever hearing him tell me he loved me.

So, when I was told that God loved me, I had a whole lot of trouble accepting it. But now I can truly say that I know that I know that God, my heavenly Father loves me. Even with all the things I’ve done to be undeserving of His love. Like Saul of Tarsus, I’ve been a chief among sinners. I’ve broken every one of God’s laws several times over. And yet, He loves me so much that he allowed His only Son to die for me (John 3:16).

My earthly father never told me he loved me, but my heavenly Father tells me, and shows me, time after time, after time.

My earthly father called me terrible, filthy names but my heavenly Father calls me “good and faithful servant”.
I don’t know why my earthly father hated me so and he’s gone now so, I guess I’ll never know. But I know my heavenly Father loves me and He will go on forever, which means that love will go on forever. He promises to never leave me nor forsake me. He loves me unconditionally.
I tried and tried to gain my earthly father’s acceptance and it’s just the opposite with God, my heavenly Father. There is nothing I need to do, or can do, to receive His love. He loves me just because…..
Can you feel the love I’m talking about? Just go to Him. He’s knocking at the door of your heart. In Romans 10:9-10, He says “confess with your mouth Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead and you will be saved.” Believe me when I say He loves you just because.

Leave a Reply

