Like a Little Child

2015-02-14 003 Mark 10:13-16

Have you ever seen a little child opening gifts on Christmas morning? That’s how God wants us to receive His gift of salvation. John 1:12 says “Yet to all who received Him, to those who believed in His Name, He gave the right to become children of God.”
Are you a child of God?
How do we receive the Kingdom of God? Do we trust God like we trusted our earthly father when we were little children.
I remember one of the fondest days of my young childhood. My father took me to the theater to see a movie: “The Durango Kid”. The theater was on Market Street and, as we were walking up Market Street toward the theater, we met two men who worked with my father.
One of them said, “Is this your son?” My father placed his large hand on my head and said, “yep, this is Jackie and we’re going to the movies.” Man,what a proud moment that was; so much so that I still recall it. And that is how God wants us to recall the day we came to Him and asked Him to save us.He wants us to expect Him to grab us in His loving arms and never let go.
He wants us to believe in His Son, Jesus; to trust Him as we trusted our parents when we were kids.
When I was a kid, I expected my parents to take care of me; to feed me; to protect me, And that is how God wants us to trust Him. He tells us that He will provide our every need in Philippians 4:19.
Our earthly father may let us down at times but God promises that He will “never leave us nor forsake us.” (Hebrews 13:5).
Have you learned to trust Him? Have you confessed Jesus as Lord? Do you believe that God raised His Son, Jesus, from the grave? This is what it takes to have Jesus call you a child of God?
The Bible says that “Today, if you hear His voice, do not harden your hearts.” Today is the day of salvation because you may not be here tomorrow.
On the news today; happening as I write this, is a report of a shooting at a college in Oregon where several people were killed. Did they know they would die today? Were they ready to meet God? I certainly hope so.
Are you ready to meet God? I certainly hope so.

Leave a Reply

