peace of mind 2PEACE OF MIND  (Philippians 4:6-7)


“Do not be anxious about anything…” According to my dictionary anxiety is “distress or uneasiness of mind caused by (1) fear of danger or misfortune. (2) Fear of ridicule or inferiority complex.


Fear and worry are synonyms of anxiety and 2 Timothy 1:7 says that “God did not give us a spirit of fear.” And to worry about anything is to go against the word of God. Matthew 6:25-31 tells us it is a sin to worry; in fact it says if you worry you have very little faith.


So, what am I saying? Simply this: to have peace of mind you must keep your eyes on Jesus Christ, the perfecter of our faith (Hebrews 12:2)


How do you keep your eyes on Jesus? You stay in the Word… you read the Word of God… get into the habit of reading God’s Word every day. Believe me when I say it will change your outlook on life. I’m a living example of what I say. When you learn, as I have, to turn everything over to God, you will be able to “Rejoice in the Lord always.”


For example: After my surgery last year, when they removed my kidneys (one entire kidney and 30 % of the other) I would sit at home and moan and groan because of the pain. The pain is still there, 8 months later, just not as severe but, I quit moaning about it long ago because I read in God’s Word to “…rejoice in our sufferings because it produces perseverance, character and hope.” That’s in Romans 5:2-4. And when I read that the first time, I thought: a person has to be crazy to rejoice in their suffering. But then I realized that “Hey, I have persevered because I know God is taking care of me, and I shouted Halleluiah!

I began to shout words of thanksgiving to God for teaching me patience (that’s perseverance)


The next word suffering produces is “character”. The KJV uses the word “experience” instead of “character” and the Strong’s Concordance says this of experience: the Greek word for experience is dokime (dok-ee-may) and it comes from a root word dokimos, which means “acceptable” or “approved”.


Now I don’t know about you but I certainly think that is something to rejoice about. What Paul is saying in Romans 5: 3 is this: Suffering produces perseverance and as you learn to persevere you gain acceptance or approval from God, which will certainly give you hope.


When you put your hope in God, you can forget all about worrying or fretting or being anxious. It’s an awesome feeling to experience the truth of God’s word as it applies to your own life.


So follow Paul’s words in Philippians 4 and “Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice!”

Leave a Reply

