Your own idea?

by J. C. Corcoran

Lean not on your own understanding; I have learned, or rather God has taught me to live by His Word. Like “wait on the Lord” and “lean not on your own understanding”. I’ll use a good case in point to show you what I mean.

I lived in Texas and my girlfriend lived in Indiana. At first, we thought she was moving to Texas but that didn’t work out so, in order for us to be together, I would have to move to Indiana. But, was it the right thing to do? We knew we loved each other and we knew we wanted to be married but, who was going to make the move? I prayed and waited on God. It didn’t take long (7 months to be exact).

First of all, I was stopped by the Texas Highway Patrol for driving an unregistered motor vehicle. The court slapped a steep fine on me and I couldn’t pay it. The court said “thirty days or we take your driver’s license”. And then my landlady advised me that she was going to have to raise my rent. You see what’s happening here, don’t you? The Lord is closing doors; telling me it’s okay to move. So I did.

Within three months in Indiana I landed one of the best jobs I had ever had outside of my law enforcement career. And for the next six years I worked that job. At the same time, my girlfriend, who is now my wife, sold the diner she had owned for more than fifteen years, and went to work at a Kroger Supermarket. In less than four years she was training for management and she is now on the management team. God has blessed us beyond measure. We had prayed and we had waited  and the Lord led us to where we are; where He wanted us.

And now, I’m waiting again because I had kidney cancer which caused me to leave that job, which put us in a precarious financial situation. What should we do? We will do what I have learned to do; I will wait on the Lord and lean not on my own understanding. The Lord will always bring about something good from what may appear to be an impossible situation because “with God all things are possible.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart  and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.”

Can I get an amen?

Leave a Reply

