peace, fear, joy

Peace

By J. C. Corcoran

10/28/2014

Yesterday, October 27th, I went in to the Cancer Center in Indianapolis for my post op with my Urologist, Dr. Chamru Sundaram. The nurse said she needed blood samples and she extracted 3 vials of blood from my arm. I said, “Wow, that’s a lot of blood. Is one of them to check my iron level?”

She answered, “Yes, one of them is to check your hemoglobin.”

I said, “Hemoglobin? Does that mean if I were female it would be HERmoglobin?”

My wife was there and we all laughed at my silly joke; and the nurse said, “Well, he’s still in good spirits after all this, that’s good.”

Today, as I think back on her statement, I have to thank God for that because he has kept His promise from John14:27 where Jesus said, “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.”

“Good spirits?” Yes, it’s the Holy Spirit within me that brings me the peace that was promised. And I have no fear even though I’m facing another surgery in less than two weeks. This time they will remove my right kidney, which is totally covered with this “renal mass” (cancer), and leave me with 70% of my left kidney.

“God does not give us the spirit of fear” (2 Tim. 1:7), that comes from somewhere else. The way I see it is this; if I make it through this ordeal, I will know that God is not through using me yet because in Philippians 1:6 it says; “being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion…” And if I don’t make it… WOW! I will be with Christ Jesus.

It’s a win/win situation, and that is PEACE.

Leave a Reply

