New dog in the house (literally)

new dog in the houseMy wife, Charlene, has this huge heart for stray animals and, I’m sorry to say, I do not share her passion. But this time it taught me a lesson and got me a harsh word from God. Several days ago, this dog that you see in the photo, showed up on our property. Of course Charlie wanted to bring it in and nurse it and whatever else and I flat put my foot down and said no. I said, “we already have two dogs in the house and what if that dog poops on the floor while you’re at work. I can’t bend over to clean it up. (I was still recovering from surgery). And what about my comfort? How am I going to relax with 3 dogs running through the house?”

When she left for work she wouldn’t even speak to me.

A little while later I settled down with a book I had been reading; “I Never Thought I’d See the Day!”  by Dr. David Jeremiah. I picked up where I had left off on page 134 and when I got to page 135, I began to receive my lesson for the day from my Heavenly father.

Dr. Jeremiah was speaking on Christian morality and on page 135 he says;

“”Third, Paul puts an even sharper point on making moral choices by saying, ‘All things are lawful for me, but not all things are helpful; all things are lawful for me, but not all things edify. Let no one seek his own, but each one the other’s well-being.'”

OUCH! Lord, are you telling me I’m being selfish?  The question wasn’t even necessary. Of course, I could see it now. I was being selfish and I broke my wife’s heart. She was concerned about a puppy left out in the cold and it looked like rain might be coming. I was only thinking of myself; I even remember what I said as my argument: “what about me, what about my comfort?”   O Lord, forgive me. That sounds terrible just writing it here on this page.

I turned my attention back to Dr. Jeremiah’s book. I wanted to see what he had to say next. He writes: “The Christian Gospel moves us to a higher plane in life. No longer do we look out only for our well-being but also for the well-being of others.”   I closed my eyes and thanked God for showing me how wrong I was and asked Him to help me do better.

I looked out the window of the front door and there was that little pup curled up on the bench. The temperature had dropped to somewhere below 50° and it had just started to drizzle a little. I really felt good about myself when I picked him up and carried him inside. Our other two dogs were not to happy about it at first but I yelled at them for being selfish. I really did.

Charlie’s face sure lit up when I later told her how I had prayed about it and how I realized I was being selfish and how I also realize that selfishness is sin. The smile on her face when she holds that pup puts a smile on my face. And then I recalled a story Dr. Jeremiah told on page 105 about Art Linkletter.

It seems that Larry King had interviewed Art Linkletter on his 90th birthday and, in that interview, Larry asked Mr. Linkletter if he could explain the secret of longevity in marriage.

Art said, “I always say yes to anything she says.”
Larry asked, “so how do you stay happy?”
Art said, “hey, when she’s happy, I’m happy.”

And that’s the absolute truth as I see it. I know for a fact that whenever my wife smiles, I smile.

Leave a Reply

